Watch: Alastair Cook questions India's concussion substitute move

2 months ago 21

 Alastair Cook questions India's concussion substitute move

NEW DELHI: Former England captain Alastair Cook questioned the referee's choice to allow

Harshit Rana

to replace

Shivam Dube

as a concussion substitute during the fourth Twenty20 International between India and England.
According to ICC Guidelines, 'The ICC match referee should ordinarily approve a concussion replacement request, if the player is a like-for-like player.'

Just as England's middle and lower order appeared to be gathering steam in their chase of 182, Rana's arrival turned the tide of the match by taking three wickets for 33 runs.

"It had such a big impact on the game. Replacing a big-hitting batting all-rounder, who has bowled one over in the [2024] IPL, with a bowler who can't bat and bowls heavy seam, makes no sense to me whatsoever.

"England still really should have won the game. They probably would have rather faced a pace bowler than a spinner, to be honest, but I still don't understand it.
"India have Washington Sundar on the bench, who

Dube

replaced. but instead they bring in a heavy bowler, who bowls 140-odd [kmph]. It seems madness that you can do it,"

Cook

told TNT Sports.

Article From: timesofindia.indiatimes.com
Read Entire Article



Note:

We invite you to explore our website, engage with our content, and become part of our community. Thank you for trusting us as your go-to destination for news that matters.

Certain articles, images, or other media on this website may be sourced from external contributors, agencies, or organizations. In such cases, we make every effort to provide proper attribution, acknowledging the original source of the content.

If you believe that your copyrighted work has been used on our site in a way that constitutes copyright infringement, please contact us promptly. We are committed to addressing and rectifying any such instances

To remove this article:
Removal Request